By Vermont law, all dogs and wolf hybrids six months of age or older must be licensed annually at the Town Clerk’s Office in the town where the animal resides by April 1st. Licenses go on sale beginning January 1st and there is a late charge after April 1st.
Reminder to Hardwick residents that dog license renewals are due by April 1st of each year.
To license your dog you must present the following items to the Town Clerk’s Office:
- Copy of a valid rabies certificate
- For new dogs, proof of spayed/neutering
Date Range Spayed/Neutered Not Spayed/Neutered
January 1 – April 1 $9.00 $13.00
April 1 – December 31 $11.00 $17.00
FOR NEW DOGS ONLY
October 1 – December 31 $7.00 $9.00
Vermont Spay Neuter Incentive Program (VSNIP)
VSNIP reduces pet overpopulation by helping eligible Vermonters afford to have their dogs spayed or neutered. The program is 100% funded by a surcharge on dog registrations so funds are limited. Learn more on their website https://dcf.vermont.gov/benefits/vsnip or call 1-844-448-7647 or email vsnip.vermontel.net if you have questions.
If you need information or have any questions please email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 802-472-5971