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I. Introduction 

This guidance is provided to assist municipalities working with individuals and businesses 

seeking to establish a cannabis business pursuant to 7 V.S.A. chapter 33.   

This guidance is not legal advice. If municipalities have questions regarding their legal 

responsibilities, they are encouraged to consult municipal counsel. 

 

II. The Cannabis Control Board  

This section provides a brief overview of the Cannabis Control Board (“CCB” or “the Board”) 

and the types of cannabis businesses that state law allows the Board to license.  

A. The Cannabis Control Board  

The Cannabis Control Board was created by Act 164 in 2020. In 2021, the legislature clarified 

and expanded the CCB’s responsibilities in Act 62.  As outlined in 7 V.S.A. § 843, the mission 

of the CCB is "to safely, equitably, and effectively implement and administer the laws enabling 

adult use and medical use of cannabis in Vermont."   

There are three full-time members of the Board. The inaugural members are James Pepper, who 

serves as Chair, Kyle Harris, and Julie Hulburd. You can learn more about the Board and its staff 

at: https://ccb.vermont.gov/.  

B. Cannabis Control Board Authority 

The Legislature has tasked the Board with "safely, equitably, and effectively implementing and 

administering the laws enabling adult use and medical use cannabis in Vermont" 7 V.S.A. § 

843.   

The role of the Board includes implementing the laws governing the adult-use cannabis program, 

crafting all rules pertaining to the licensing and oversight of cannabis businesses, and overseeing 

compliance and enforcement of the program.   

The proposed CCB rules are in the process of becoming final rules with legal force and effect. 

These rules can be found on the CCB website: https://ccb.vermont.gov/. The proposed rules will 

be updated on the website as they are amended during the rulemaking process. Final rules will be 

prominently displayed.  

The CCB has also assumed responsibility for administering the medical cannabis program, 

formerly housed within the Department of Public Safety. This program oversees and administers 

Vermont’s therapeutic cannabis program, including dispensaries and the patient and caregiver 

registry.  

 

 

 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2020/Docs/BILLS/S-0054/S-0054%20As%20Passed%20by%20Both%20House%20and%20Senate%20Unofficial.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/Documents/2022/Docs/ACTS/ACT062/ACT062%20As%20Enacted.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/031/00843
https://ccb.vermont.gov/
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/031/00843
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/031/00843
https://ccb.vermont.gov/
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III. Cannabis Establishments  

A. Types of Cannabis Establishments 

7 V.S.A. chapter 33 creates different types of adult-use cannabis businesses, which the law calls 

“cannabis establishments.” People or entities that hold a cannabis establishment license may 

engage in the commercial cannabis activity (such as cultivating cannabis) that is allowed by the 

type of license. The Board has sole authority to issue these licenses.  

The different types of licenses, and the activities the licensees are allowed to engage in, are as 

follows:  

1. Cultivator License  

Cultivator licensees may grow cannabis plants, either outdoors or indoors. 7 V.S.A. § 904. 

2. Manufacturer License  

Manufacturer licensees may produce cannabis products from cannabis plants, including edibles, 

oils, and other such products. 7 V.S.A. § 906. 

3. Wholesaler License  

Wholesaler licensees may purchase cannabis and cannabis products from other licensees and sell 

them to licensees. 7 V.S.A. § 905.  

4. Testing Laboratory License  

Testing Laboratory licensees may test cannabis and cannabis products obtained from a licensed 

cannabis establishment, dispensary, or a member of the public. 7 V.S.A. § 908.  

5. Retailer License  

Retailer licensees may sell cannabis and cannabis products to the general public. 7 V.S.A. § 907. 

No other license type may sell to the general public.  

6. Integrated License 

Integrated Licensees may engage in the activities of each of the license types listed above, but 

these licenses are only available to "an applicant and its affiliates that hold a dispensary 

registration on April 1, 2022." 7 V.S.A. § 909.  

B. Tiered License Types 

Cultivator, Manufacturer, and Retailer license types each have tiers relating to the size or the 

kind of operation. More information about these tiers can be found in Board Rule 1, which is 

available on the CCB’s website: https://ccb.vermont.gov/.  

C. Key Parameters of Cannabis Establishment Licenses  

1. A licensee may hold multiple licenses, but they may hold only one of each type of 

license. 7 V.S.A. § 901.  

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00904
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00906
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00905
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00908
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00907
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00909
https://ccb.vermont.gov/
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00901
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2. Each license allows for only one location of the cannabis establishment. 7 V.S.A. § 901.  

3. Multiple licensees may operate at the same location, subject to limitations established by 

the Board, except that multiple retail operations may not operate at the same location.  

4. All cannabis establishments are subject to comprehensive state regulations and 

inspections by CCB staff.   

 

IV. Municipal Authority and Cannabis Establishments 

This section provides an overview of municipal authority to regulate cannabis establishments.  

A. Opt-in Provision 

A municipality must opt in to host a retail cannabis establishment by majority vote. But the opt-

in vote requirement applies only to retailer licenses and the retail portion of integrated licenses. It 

has no impact on the ability of other license types to operate in a particular municipality. These 

other license types include cultivators, wholesalers, manufacturers, and testing laboratories, none 

of which require an opt-in vote to operate in a municipality. 7 V.S.A. § 863(a)(1).   

A municipality can opt in at any time. 

A municipality may vote to opt out from allowing retail cannabis establishments, but such a vote 

will not apply to any retail establishment operating in the municipality at the time of the opt-out 

vote. 7 V.S.A. § 863(a)(2).  

B. Municipal Regulatory Authority  

General rule:  

• Cannabis establishments are subject to the same zoning rules and municipal ordinances 

that apply to any business.  Beyond municipalities' general authority to create and enforce 

zoning rules or ordinances that apply to all businesses, they do not have the power to 

create special rules for cannabis establishments. 

A municipality may:  

• Regulate cannabis establishments to the same extent they may regulate any other business 

under their authority to create zoning bylaws in 24 V.S.A. § 4414 and their authority to 

regulate signs or public nuisances in 24 V.S.A. § 2291. Municipalities may regulate any 

cannabis establishment license type in this manner. 7 V.S.A. § 863(b).  

A municipality may not: 

• Regulate cannabis establishments to any greater extent than they could any other 

business. 7 V.S.A. § 863(d).  

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00901
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00863
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00863
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/117/04414
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/061/02291
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00863
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00863
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• Place conditions on the operation of cannabis establishments, or create special rules for 

them, that is not within their zoning authority under 24 V.S.A. § 4414 or their authority to 

regulate signs or public nuisances under 24 V.S.A. § 2291. 7 V.S.A. § 863(d)(2). 

• Use their zoning power under 24 V.S.A. § 4414 or their ordinance power under 24 

V.S.A. § 2291 in a way that will have the effect of prohibiting the operation of cannabis 

establishments. 7 V.S.A. § 863(d)(1). 

C. Local Cannabis Control Commissions  

Municipalities may create a local cannabis control commission, but they are not required to. 

Municipalities must give notice to the Cannabis Control Board if they have formed a local 

cannabis control commission.  

The local commission may issue and administer local control licenses and may condition 

licenses on compliance with zoning bylaws under 24 V.S.A. § 4414 and ordinances regulating 

signs or public nuisances under 24 V.S.A. § 2291. The local commission may also deny, 

suspend, or revoke a local control license if it violates conditions placed on the license. Local 

commissions must inform the Board of such actions.  

If a local control commission requires a license, a cannabis establishment must obtain one before 

being licensed by the Cannabis Control Board. A local control commission must promptly 

consider license applications and may not indefinitely delay consideration.  

The conditions that local control commissions can place on a license are limited to compliance 

with zoning bylaws under 24 V.S.A. § 4414 and compliance with ordinances regulating signs or 

public nuisances under 24 V.S.A. § 2291. As explained further in subsection B of this section IV, 

placing additional conditions on a local license, or suspending or revoking licenses for any 

reason other than the allowable conditions, is a violation of state law.  

The local commissioners may be members of the municipality’s legislative body.  

If a municipality has not formed a local control commission, no local licensing approval will be 

required before the Board approves a license to operate.  

Even without a local cannabis control commission a municipality may still regulate cannabis 

establishments in accordance with their general authority to regulate businesses. For more 

information on a municipality’s regulatory power with respect to cannabis businesses please see 

subsection B of this section IV.  

D. No State-Mandated Zoning Designations for Cannabis Businesses  

There is no provision in state law or the Board’s rules that requires a particular zoning 

designation for any cannabis establishment.   

A municipality’s zoning rules may require a certain type of cannabis establishment to operate 

within a particular zoning designation, but that will be determined on a town-by-town and 

business-by-business basis.  

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/117/04414
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/061/02291
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00863
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/117/04414
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/061/02291
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/061/02291
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00863
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/117/04414
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/061/02291
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/117/04414
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/061/02291
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For example, there is nothing in state law requiring cannabis establishments to operate within a 

commercial zoning designation. A town’s zoning bylaws may require a particular cannabis 

establishment to be within a commercially zoned district, but that will result solely from the 

application of the town’s bylaws and not from any requirement in state law.  

Nowhere does Vermont law state that cannabis is a “commercial product,” and nowhere does the 

law require that cannabis businesses operate within designated commercial zones.   

E. Agricultural Product Provisions Do Not Effect Zoning  

State law provides that cannabis cultivators will not be regulated as farming and cannabis will 

not be considered an agricultural product or crop. 7 V.S.A. § 869. As a result, cannabis and 

cannabis cultivators will not receive certain tax and regulatory benefits that farms and 

agricultural products are eligible to receive.  

These provisions are not relevant to zoning laws and have no effect on zoning. A municipality’s 

zoning rules may require a certain type of cannabis establishment to operate within a particular 

zoning designation, but that will be determined on a town-by-town and business-by-business 

basis. State cannabis law does not determine any zoning designation.  

F. Buffer Zones 

Under Board rules, a retail cannabis establishment cannot operate in any location where it would 

be a violation of the drug-free school zone law to sell a regulated drug. This means cannabis 

retailers cannot operate if the store would be on a property that abuts a school property and if the 

retail operations would occur within 500 feet of the school property.  

The Board’s buffer zone requirement applies only to retail cannabis establishments and not to 

any other type of cannabis establishment license.  

A municipality may regulate the location of cannabis establishments to the same extent it may 

regulate the placement of any other business under its zoning powers, but a municipality does not 

have authority to go beyond its general zoning power under 24 V.S.A. § 4414 in creating buffer 

zones that could apply to cannabis establishments.  

For more information on a municipality’s regulatory power with respect to cannabis businesses 

please see subsection B of this section IV.  

G. Social Equity Criteria 

The Board has prioritized the processing of social equity applications at the state level and is 

working with partners and affected communities to establish programs that will provide 

additional support for social equity applicants.  

Municipalities may not condition local license decisions upon social equity criteria, though 

towns are encouraged to support social equity applicants. For example, they may choose to hold 

local workshops or informational sessions to assist local applicants in moving through the local 

permitting and license process.   

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00869
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/117/04414
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For more information on a municipality’s regulatory power with respect to cannabis businesses 

please see subsection B of this section IV.  

H. Provisional Licenses 

If an applicant has received a provisional license from the Board, it means the applicant has 

submitted an initial application and is provisionally approved for a license.  A provisional license 

does not allow an applicant to begin operations, nor does it guarantee that an applicant will 

receive a final license to operate a cannabis establishment.  Not all provisional licenses will 

result in a final license.  

The Board will not require local control commission approval to grant a provisional license.  

I. Environmental Regulations 

Cannabis establishments must abide by all generally applicable environmental regulations, 

whether state or municipal.  

The Board will require some additional environmental standards, as provided in Board Rule 2, 

available at the CCB’s website. For example, larger cultivators who operate on municipal water 

will be required to obtain a notice that the municipal water authority has capacity to serve the 

cultivation operation.  

Municipalities do not have authority to implement special environmental rules for cannabis 

establishments, beyond their authority to create zoning bylaws with general effect. For more 

information on a municipality’s regulatory power with respect to cannabis businesses please see 

subsection B of this section IV.  

 

V. Taxes and Fees 

The legislature has the power to set taxes and fees and is considering relevant rates during the 

2022 legislative session. This section will be updated after the legislature has made additional 

decisions on these matters.  

A. Excise Taxes 

The excise tax on cannabis products will be 14%. Under current law, municipalities do not 

receive a portion of the cannabis excise tax. In its October 15, 2021 report to the legislature the 

Board recommended that municipalities get a portion of the excise tax.  

B. Local Fees 

The legislature has not approved specific local cannabis fee rates. The CCB has recommended 

that the legislature approve a local fee of up to $500 or, alternatively, allow municipalities to use 

the Uniform Fee Schedule set forth in 1 VSA 316(d) to charge applicants a variable fee based on 

the actual amount of time spent processing an application.  

https://ccb.vermont.gov/
https://ccb.vermont.gov/reports
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The process for collecting local fees is under consideration during the 2022 legislative session. 

Under Act 162 of 2020, the CCB would collect local license fees at the time an applicant applies 

or renews their application with the CCB and would pay them on a quarterly basis to the 

municipality in which the fees were collected. 7 V.S.A. § 846. This guidance will be updated 

with any process changes that may be legislated in 2022.  

C. Local Option Taxes  

The Vermont Sales and Use Tax will apply to the retail sale of cannabis products in Vermont. 

Municipalities that have such a tax will receive local option tax revenue on retail sales of 

cannabis. The sales and use tax applies to all cannabis products.  

Municipalities cannot add a local option sales tax solely for cannabis products. Municipalities 

that have a local option sales tax cannot exempt cannabis products from that tax. Municipalities 

must tax cannabis products as they would as any other good.  

D. Meals and Rooms Taxes 

Meals and Rooms taxes do not apply to cannabis products, nor do they apply to edible cannabis 

products. Therefore, a local option tax on meals would not apply to the retail sale of any 

cannabis products.   

 

VI. Public Health, Education, and Advertising 

A. Public Health and Education 

The CCB has developed detailed regulations to ensure that cannabis and cannabis products that 

are being sold at retail establishments are tested and free from harmful adulterants. The CCB has 

broad authority to stop sales and recall harmful products if identified.  

All cannabis and cannabis products will be sold in opaque, child-resistant packaging that will be 

labeled with standard health warnings and symbols approved by the Vermont Department of 

Health.  

The CCB will require retailers to provide customers an educational flyer at the point of sale that 

includes health and safety information. This flyer will be developed by the Department of Health 

and contain current, evidence-based information on the health effects of cannabis. Additionally, 

the Department of Heath will have access to 30% of the cannabis excise tax (capped at 

$10,000,000 annually) to fund substance misuse prevention programming throughout the state.  

While the CCB does not have the authority to require additional trainings related to cannabis 

consumption for local police, fire, and rescue forces, the CCB will require training for employees 

for cannabis establishments that includes identifying signs of overconsumption.  

B. Advertising 

Vermont’s cannabis advertising laws are among the most restrictive in the country, and all 

advertisements will require CCB approval prior to publication.  

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/031/00846#:~:text=%C2%A7%20846.&text=(a)%20The%20Board%20shall%20have,time%20of%20application%20or%20renewal.
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Cannabis establishments may not advertise their products via any medium where more than 15 

percent of the audience will be under 21 years of age. 7 V.S.A. § 864. More information about 

advertising regulations is available in Board Rule 2, available at the Board’s website.  

 

VII. Public Safety, Compliance, and Enforcement 

A. Cannabis Establishment Security  

The Board has security requirements for all cannabis businesses, though the requirements vary 

depending on license type. License holders are required to report to the Board any issues of theft, 

property damage or loss. The Board will notify appropriate law enforcement and local officials 

as appropriate. 

More information about the Board’s security requirements can be found in Board Rule 2, 

available at the Board’s website.  

The CCB does not intend to regulate maximum occupancy at cannabis establishments, however 

all establishments will be subject to all relevant fire and building safety codes.  

B. Cannabis Age and Possession Limits and Retail Establishments  

A person 21 years of age or older may purchase up to one once of cannabis per transaction at a 

cannabis retail establishment and possess up to one ounce of cannabis on their person. 18 V.S.A. 

§ 4230a. It is a civil violation for a person under 21 years of age to possess any amount of 

cannabis. 18 V.S.A. § 4230b.  

No person under 21 will be permitted in a cannabis establishment. The Board has the power to 

enforce this rule with severe sanctions and civil penalties, up to and including revocation of an 

operating license. 

C. Transportation of Cannabis Between Licensees 

If cannabis is being transported by vehicle between licensees, it needs to be done in an unmarked 

car to avoid unnecessary attention and threats of theft or diversion. Cannabis must be entered and 

tracked in inventory tracking software that indicates a transfer between license holders. Every 

time cannabis is transported, a manifest must be generated containing detailed information such 

as approximate time of departure, destination, estimated time of arrival, the transportation 

vehicle’s make, model, and license plate number, and signature of an employee of the cannabis 

establishment receiving the product. Information about transports will not be shared with law 

enforcement each time a transfer happens. If there is an issue in transport, the Board must be 

notified within 24 hours, and the Board will contact officials as appropriate. 

State and local police will not have authority to stop a driver who is lawfully transporting 

cannabis or cannabis products pursuant to the laws and rules of the regulated market unless the 

driver has committed a moving violation or some other offense. Cannabis establishment 

employees who are transporting cannabis must always have documentation on them 

demonstrating their lawful employment with a cannabis establishment.   

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/07/033/00864
https://ccb.vermont.gov/
https://ccb.vermont.gov/
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/18/084/04230a
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/18/084/04230a
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/18/084/04230b
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D. Tracking Cannabis Products 

The CCB will require each license holder to maintain tracking software that will track each 

cannabis plant from seed to sale. The Board will be able to remotely access all tracking data in 

real time. This will be a check on illegal diversion and inversion, and if there are inconsistencies 

in a license holder’s operation the Board will investigate and take action as appropriate. 

E. Complaints About Cannabis Establishments 

The Board will have a system in place to receive reports from anyone, including municipal 

officials, regarding suspected issues and violations of a license holder. The Board will 

investigate and inform local officials as necessary of any violations and enforcement actions.  

Municipalities retain authority to enforce ordinances regarding “public nuisances” under 24 

V.S.A. § 2291. For more information on a municipality’s regulatory power with respect to 

cannabis businesses please see subsection B of section IV. 

F. Investigations of Cannabis Establishments 

The Board will have enforcement personnel who can investigate complaints about the operations 

of any cannabis establishment and recommend sanctions to the Board, if appropriate.  

G. Sanctioning Cannabis Establishments 

The Board has authority to prescribe administrative and civil penalties to a license holder or 

other person who violates the rules or laws regulating the legal cannabis market. These penalties 

could range from a fine to a suspension or revocation of a license, depending on the type and 

severity of violation. The Board will inform a municipality of a suspension or revocation of a 

license after it has reached a final judgment. 

More information about the Board’s enforcement processes can be found in Board Rule 4, 

available at the Board’s website.  

H. Lawful Locations for Cannabis Consumption  

Under state law, cannabis consumption is prohibited in any public place, meaning any street, 

alley, park, sidewalk, public building other than individual dwellings, any place of public 

accommodation, and any place where the use or possession of a lighted tobacco product, tobacco 

product, or tobacco substitute is prohibited by law. Places of public accommodation can include 

restaurants, stores, or other facilities at which services, facilities, goods, privileges, advantages, 

benefits, or accommodations are offered to the general public. 18 V.S.A. § 4230a.  

Public consumption of cannabis in any form is prohibited and is subject to civil penalties capped 

at $100 for a first offense, $200 for a second offense, and $500 for a third or subsequent offense. 

18 V.S.A. § 4230a.  

Cannabis consumption on private property that is not a place of public accommodation is not 

prohibited by state law.  

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/061/02291
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/061/02291
https://ccb.vermont.gov/
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/18/084/04230a
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/18/084/04230a
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I. Commercial Driver’s Licenses  

The requirements for getting and keeping a Commercial Driver’s License are not impacted by 

the legalization of cannabis in Vermont. Any substance that was prohibited for use by CDL 

holders prior to cannabis legalization in Vermont is still prohibited.   

J. Online Sales and Delivery to Consumers  

Online ordering is currently prohibited.  The legislature may consider it in the future.  

Delivery to consumers is currently prohibited. The legislature may consider it in the future. 

K. Cannabis Product Manufacturing  

The Vermont Fire and Building Safety Code, as promulgated by the Department of Public 

Safety, will apply to all cannabis manufacturing operations. Towns may regulate cannabis 

manufacturing operations to the same extent they may regulate any business pursuant to their 

zoning authority, but may not place special conditions upon manufacturing operations beyond 

their general zoning authority.  

For more information on a municipality’s regulatory power with respect to cannabis businesses 

please see subsection B of section IV. 

L. Changes of Ownership and Control of Cannabis Establishments  

Cannabis establishments are required to notify the Board of changes of ownership and control. 

Information about ownership will be public.  

M. Highway Safety  

The Vermont Criminal Justice Council added Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving 

Enforcement (ARIDE) to the mandatory curriculum at the Vermont Police Academy in 2015, 

meaning all law enforcement officers who have graduated since 2015 are trained to detect drivers 

impaired by any substance, including cannabis. The Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council 

is currently working to train all remaining law enforcement officers that are involved in highway 

safety on ARIDE standards.  

In addition to ARIDE-trained officers, Vermont utilizes approximately 45-55 trained Drug 

Recognition Experts (DRE) that are geographically dispersed around the state. DREs are 

specialized law enforcement officers that have completed a 40-hour course and field certification 

designed to detect not only impairment but also the impairing substance(s) a driver has 

consumed.  

N. Novel Cannabinoids  

Currently, many intoxicating cannabinoids, including Delta-8 and synthetic Delta-9, exist in a 

regulatory grey area. The CCB has asked the legislature to grant it the authority to regulate all 

intoxicating cannabinoids to ensure that they are only sold to those authorized to purchase them, 

and that they are safe for consumers and patients. If granted the authority, the CCB intends to 

create a product registration process so that any new product containing a novel intoxicating 
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cannabinoid will be reviewed, including its packaging, labeling, ingredients, and health effects, 

before being released to the public.  


